The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: Clam Auger Drill Plate  (Read 1332 times)

Offline aaron_sh

• IceShanty Rookie
Clam Auger Drill Plate
« on: Nov 19, 2014, 02:48 PM »
Does anyone use the Clam drill plate on their auger? How easy to use? Does the charge last a day's worth? Thinking about giving myself an early Christmas.. Thanks.

Offline river rat78

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Clam Auger Drill Plate
« Reply #1 on: Nov 19, 2014, 03:00 PM »
What auger do you plan on using with it? And what drill do you plan on attaching it too?

Offline aaron_sh

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 19, 2014, 03:04 PM »
I have a 6 inch Strikemaster Lazer hand auger, and the drill I am not sure about.  Would be willing to go buy a nice 18v however.

Offline Gills-only

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When hell freezes over, I'll ice fish there too!!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 19, 2014, 03:56 PM »
Go with the Milwaukee fuel 2604-22, reviews say they are the best!  Im sure others will suffice.

Offline SkiSoloII

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Nov 19, 2014, 05:40 PM »
I use my Clam plate with a 5" Lazer auger and a Rigid 18V Hammer drill (not in hammer mode). Lots of torque, durable, good warrantee on the drill. Get at leat one 4ah battery.

People who have used mine have been sold - also were perturbed last year that they couldn't find any left out there.

Dave

Offline aaron_sh

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Nov 20, 2014, 08:52 AM »
Thanks for all the input. I have seen the standard drill adapters on the ice (the ones without the plate and handles), and have watched people spend more time trying to drill a straight hole than actually fish. Think I might pull the trigger on the Clam plate. Thanks again!

Offline Dougie51869

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • A day of fishin, is better than any other day
« Reply #6 on: Nov 20, 2014, 09:09 AM »