Author Topic: Clam Ice Auger Conversion Kit or Nils  (Read 6333 times)

Offline clay3

• Team IceShanty Regular
Clam Ice Auger Conversion Kit or Nils
« on: Nov 11, 2014, 07:11 AM »
Hello everybody, I am torn and looking for a little advice. 

I have been ice fishing for a few years now which means I have been adding to my gear collection for a few years now.  The big difference this year is that my kids are old enough and very excited to join me on the ice :).  The past few years I have been hand drilling my own holes with a 6 inch Mora ice auger.  As you can imagine, I will be drilling quite a few more holes this year so the kids will have their own flags (mostly bass, pickerel and pan fish so they can chase them all day).  I am not very sure that I want to drop a couple of hundred dollars on a gas, propane or electric auger but I want an upgrade.  Here is my question to you all . . .

1.  Do I purchase a Clam Ice Auger Conversion Kit?  If I do this then I can use my Mora 6 inch auger on it along with my Porter Cable 20V Max drill driver (2 - 1.5A batteries).  I do also fish for lake trout once in a while so I am a little nervous about the 6 inch hole.  Yes it has always been big enough in the past but there is that what if factor.  Also, if I purchase this kit then I am without an electric drill for the ice fishing season for stuff around the house.

2. Do I purchase am 8 inch Nils auger?  If I do this then I obviously have the extra space to fit up the bag laker during the derby.  I also would have my drill for the season if I need it for house stuff.  The downfall is I have never used a Nils but I hear that they cut like butter. Regardless, I would still be hand drilling a bunch of holes.

3.  Do you have any other options for me to consider?

Offline NYSporty

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Jigem up boys
Re: Clam Ice Auger Conversion Kit or Nils
« Reply #1 on: Nov 11, 2014, 07:31 AM »
I think you would be better off looking for a used 8" power auger.