Author Topic: Black Betty 6061  (Read 10214 times)

Offline WolfPack1

• Team IceShanty Regular
Black Betty 6061
« on: Oct 24, 2014, 01:17 PM »
I have a few questions about this reel as I can pick one up for $50. I thought I read that it has an instant anti-reverse. So with this, I could free spool my jig down 30ft or whatever the depth, and turn on the anti reverse, so if I set down the rod and a fish takes it, the handle won't turn backwards? I'm new to the whole inline reel idea, but love the concept for deep water suspended crappies.

Offline jthod

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Black Betty 6061
« Reply #1 on: Oct 24, 2014, 02:01 PM »
imagine it as a baitcaster.  free spool spin, which is adjustable just like a baitcaster. 

Offline NatefishNY

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Oct 24, 2014, 03:57 PM »
For 50 bucks I would jump on it, I bought the 6061 and teardrop last year and love them both and I imagine you will too
            P.E.T.A. = People Eating Tasty Animals

Offline matzilla

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Oct 24, 2014, 04:11 PM »
Are you guys using any backing similar to a fly reel with these inlines or just spooling up with straight ice line?

Catchin' Fish

Offline guthook1

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Oct 24, 2014, 04:40 PM »
I have a BB 6061 and have it spooled up with 10# Power Pro to a small swivel and then on to a couple feet of fluorocarbon leader.  Currently it is rigged with a small slip bobber that is removed when fishing deep jigs on Superior.
bestfishes - jim

Offline Agronomist_at_IA

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Team Iowa!
« Reply #5 on: Oct 24, 2014, 07:31 PM »
got two pline ice line on both awsome reels

Offline WolfPack1

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #6 on: Oct 24, 2014, 09:47 PM »
So if I reel my spinning reels with my left hand (hold the rod with my right) I should get a left hand model?

Offline BBQMAN

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Wishin I Was Fishin
« Reply #7 on: Oct 24, 2014, 09:52 PM »