The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: HELP!!!! Snowmobiles!  (Read 2488 times)

Offline Epkomd

• Team IceShanty Maniac
HELP!!!! Snowmobiles!
« on: Sep 08, 2014, 09:28 PM »
Looking to upgrade my sled this year. Bought a bearcat 340 last fall, and it worked fine for me this past winter, but lack of reverse was a real pain in the ass!

I dont need anything fancy, 2-up would be prefered since im usually fishing with at least one other person.

not much into trail riding, but i may hit em from time to time.

So i guess what im asking is, what would you suggest, and what should i stay away from. Im fairly new to snowmobiles, so any help is appreciated.

oh, my budget is right around 3000... but i could see myself spending a tad more if it was worth it.

thanks in advance!

Offline NorthWoods Harry

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • A bad day of fishing beats a good day at work!
Re: HELP!!!! Snowmobiles!
« Reply #1 on: Sep 08, 2014, 09:58 PM »
I ride an '02 Yamaha Venture 600 2-up. Heated grips, reverse, elec start,etc....LOVE IT! It is my second Venture. Picked it up for $2500.

Made a hitch for it...it can pull a portable shack AND haul a second person...with EASE! And if you DO decide to hit the trails, it is a comfortable ride!

I got 5000 miles on it now...no problems...

Just my 2 cents

Offline HardwaterFish

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Sep 09, 2014, 07:51 AM »
Not having reverse sucks  ;)

If I was strictly ice fishing, and had 3k to spend, I would buy a skandic. 500 fan with RER, studs and a hitch. something like this, a little newer even:

http://maine.craigslist.org/snw/4648204110.html

Offline NorthWoods Harry

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Sep 09, 2014, 08:26 AM »

If I was strictly ice fishing, and had 3k to spend, I would buy a skandic. 500 fan with RER, studs and a hitch. something like this, a little newer even: