The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: White Perch!  (Read 3263 times)

Offline troutcrazy

• Team IceShanty Addict
White Perch!
« on: Mar 23, 2014, 10:26 AM »
Seriously, these things are delicious!  I caught a mess of em on St Albans Bay the other day.  My first time fishing there, and my first white perch.  If I'd known how big they were, I would have thrown back the first few fish.  After I took the photo I kept on pulling em in, and I quit after around 20 fish because I didn't want to clean any more.  There were plenty of 12" +  fish.

This has been my first year ice fishing.  I've been fishing almost exclusively for trout for the last 25 years or so.  With trout I always have this feeling of wanting to go easy on the fish, not wanting to take too many out of a particular brook.  It was a completely different experience harvesting an invasive species, like a guy could take all the fish out of the lake and be doing a good deed.   ;D

Man these guys are slimy, though.  I never really filleted fish before, but by the time I was done with them I was getting pretty good at it.  I'd better get some more practice! ;)

I'm going back out today, hopefully to put a few pounds of fillets in my freezer!

Delicious fishes!

Offline anglure

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: White Perch!
« Reply #1 on: Mar 23, 2014, 10:55 AM »
Nice Bunch of Whities !! :woot: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Offline wmhunts

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Wes McRae
« Reply #2 on: Mar 23, 2014, 10:58 AM »
Nice job, I fished up there once with shivering joe. Great fun fishing for them, I wish I was closer I would fish for them all winter
Come on get on the ice fish!!

Offline Mainedog

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Mar 23, 2014, 11:02 AM »
It is virtually impossible to over fish a white perch fishery, and as you said, they are good eating.

You might want to harvest more of the smaller ones.  That way, there will be fewer whose growth is
stunted due to overpopulation.