The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: storing augers  (Read 1358 times)

Offline curdog

• Team IceShanty Regular
storing augers
« on: Mar 17, 2014, 08:17 PM »
wondering your guys opinions on storing you augers is it better to store with a little fuel and stabilizer in the tank or run them dry for storage been told both ways

Offline shawdawg

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: storing augers
« Reply #1 on: Mar 17, 2014, 08:31 PM »
I've done both with good results.  If you store it with fuel I would suggest using non-ethanol fuel plus stabilizer.  If you have fuel with ethanol than put some stabilizer in and run it dry.  I'm no expert by any means though with small engines.

Offline SpitzoMT

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • FLX-28 Ultra Pack
« Reply #2 on: Mar 18, 2014, 03:26 AM »
I store mine with stabilizer in the fuel & haven't had any issues so far.

Offline Mogi

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Mar 18, 2014, 08:18 AM »
What stabilizer do you use spitz?

Offline SpitzoMT

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • FLX-28 Ultra Pack
« Reply #4 on: Mar 18, 2014, 11:50 AM »
STA-BIL.....I just put about an ounce in the tank, shake it up a bit, run it for 5 minutes, & then hang it on the garage wall until next season.

Offline elksavy96

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Mar 18, 2014, 12:00 PM »
I have been told that it is way harder on them to store them without fuel in them. I have been using the premixed gas and they claim that you do not need to drain the fuel because it already has a stabilizer in it.

Offline Papa John

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #6 on: Mar 18, 2014, 12:49 PM »
Storing empty elevates the chance of corrosion from air moisture. Airplanes are always left with full tanks for that reason. Leave fuel in with Stabil..... wouldn't ever count on there being any form of stabilizer in gasoline bought from any source. I use Stabil in everything and have never had an issue. Engines fire right off next season.

Offline sra61