Author Topic: To keep or not to keep  (Read 20764 times)

Offline Bigggcountry

• IceShanty Rookie
  • I'm not a man prone to sharing my secrets.
To keep or not to keep
« on: Feb 13, 2014, 07:48 PM »
The average clutch size is 23,000 eggs, but can range from 2,000 to 90,000. Most research has shown the maximum age to be approximately 9–10 years Yellow perch typically reach sexual maturity in 2–3 years for males and 3–4 years for females. Let's say there are 5,000 sexually mature females in Cascade a year that would mean 115 million eggs a year. Let's say that only 1/2 the eggs get fertilized that's 57.5 million, and let's say that half of those make it it two years that's over 28.5 million 2-3" perch for the jumbos to eat. I think it really depends more on the fishery than the fish. I grew up fishing a lake where catching 16-17er" wasn't uncommon and most people didn't even think of keeping them if the were under 12".  The limit was 30 and most days it was pretty easy to catch a limit. At the end of the day it's up to the individual, but if ya keep it ya better eat it

Offline weigand

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: To keep or not to keep
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13, 2014, 08:34 PM »
Great, but I would say that way less than 50% (of the 57million) make to year two.

Offline StrikeMojo

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 14, 2014, 07:35 AM »