Mobile Site Follow Iceshanty at Twitter Iceshanty Facebook Page Iceshanty Youtube Channel
Ice Fishing Shanty
Home | ThinIce | Chat | Pictures | Archives | ProShop | Militia | Sponsors
Iceshanty.com sponsored in part by:
Marmish | FishUSA | Marcum | Fish307 | Jiffy | Muck Boots | Frabill | FleetFarm | Lindy | Glens | KitteryTradingPost | Cabelas
Jul 28, 2014, 06:33 PM

Fly the Team Iceshanty Flag! New 2x3' flags in the Iceshanty Proshop

Miss activation email? Check your spam folder! | Forgot password?

Author Topic: Best Auger for Cordless Drill  (Read 1335 times)

walleyehawger

• IceShanty Rookie

Best Auger for Cordless Drill
« on: Dec 06, 2013, 03:44 PM »
I have been using my Milwaukee with a 4" or a 5" Lazer for a few years and have been happy with it. I am just wondering if I am missing out on a better, more efficient auger. What are you guys using?

ADKer

• Team IceShanty Regular

Re: Best Auger for Cordless Drill
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2013, 03:48 PM »
Nils.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-- Thomas Jefferson

Muskyrush

• Team IceShanty Regular

« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2013, 04:33 PM »
Nils and strikemaster are even the hype of the nils, is just hype after buying a nils everyone says the way better I can punch holes way faster and straighter with a lazer, and blades have to be sharpened the same amount had them both on drills my nod goes to lazer

cdroessler

• IceShanty Rookie

« Reply #3 on: Dec 06, 2013, 04:37 PM »
can anyone with a 8" nils comment on the size of drill they use - and it works well...  When mine arrived, it stated at least 18V.  The NILs site says 28V though, and I've heard some say they burned out their 18V.  My hunch is their problem had more to do with plastic gears though.  I know Skil has model 2898LI-02 (metal gears) and porter cable has the PCCK600LB which I "think" has metal gears.  Both 18V.