Author Topic: auger shakes  (Read 4577 times)

Offline 1moslab

• Team IceShanty Maniac
auger shakes
« on: Dec 29, 2011, 08:27 AM »
hey guys looking for help.i have a strikemaster mag power auger that the whole drill assembly moves where it goes in the power head more than it should.called strikemaster and only idea seemed to be loose collar,but it is tight.has anybody experienced this and is there anything i can do to fix.its about 8- 10 yrs old and runs great.

Offline chumster

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: auger shakes
« Reply #1 on: Dec 29, 2011, 08:33 AM »
Check to see if the auger shaft is bent.

Offline 1moslab

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 29, 2011, 08:52 AM »
it doesnt seem to be it drills good but when you grab the shaft and wiggle it moves atleast twice as much as normal.cant be good.

Offline bee

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 29, 2011, 09:04 AM »
Sounds like the bolt has come loose. Common thing to do.
Thats Why They Call It Fishing.

Offline da man cave shack

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Drillin for a thrillin.
« Reply #4 on: Dec 29, 2011, 09:41 AM »
Did you change the blades recently? If you did you might have accidentally used the roung blades or not put something back on correctly. that is what happened to me so I thought I might just mention it.

Offline NYSporty

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Jigem up boys
« Reply #5 on: Dec 29, 2011, 09:45 AM »
Sounds like the bolt has come loose. Common thing to do.

2X that allen bolt on the shaft will loosten up allot I used locktight on my new one because I lost one.
"Problem solving is hunting. It is savage pleasure and we are born to do it."
Thomas Harris

Offline 1moslab

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Dec 29, 2011, 02:00 PM »
the allan bolt in the collar isnt loose.it seems like its right where it goes in the power head.i didnt really feel comfortable taking it apart,hate to just wait till something brakes.anybody know whats inside there?

Offline Fisherman 1