New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: landlocked salmon  (Read 8020 times)

Offline perch patrol

• IceShanty Rookie
landlocked salmon
« on: Sep 02, 2010, 01:03 PM »
I was just wondering what a landlocked salmon actually is.  Is it a certain species of salmon or a broad description of salmon that is landlocked because it is in a lake.  Also does anyone catch them and where because I have been fishing ny for about 13 years but have never really targeted salmon. mainly because I don't know the lakes that have good populations. any info would be much appreciated.  God i can't wait for Ice summer fishing is ok but nothing beats hardwater action.

Offline jd110tlb

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: landlocked salmon
« Reply #1 on: Sep 02, 2010, 07:35 PM »
Landlock salmon are Atlantic salmon that are land locked . cant tell you where to catch them ;) but i bet if you lookup where they are stocked and then which ones are open for ice fishing it might give you a good idea where to catch them ;D

Offline Raquettedacker

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Sep 02, 2010, 08:03 PM »
Here is a good place to start...     http://nyfisherman.net/senecalandlocked.html
Strangers stopping strangers just to shake there hand.
         The successful life were living has us feuding like the Hatfields and McCoys...
Pro Staff Member "Team Loser"

Offline mr.clean

• Team IceShantyholic
  • new windsor,ny.
« Reply #3 on: Sep 03, 2010, 05:53 AM »
 Piseco Lake in Hamilton county has a population of land locked salmon.
  Steve

Offline Fatman

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Always Expect The Unexpected
« Reply #4 on: Sep 13, 2010, 03:26 AM »
I pulled a 32" LLS threw the ice a few years ago at Piseco lake.  I had my tip up set up in 4' of water about 5' from shore.  That was a nice fish.

Offline perch patrol

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Sep 14, 2010, 08:09 PM »
thanks for all the information guys, I will definitely look in to it

Offline snelly