Mobile Site Follow Iceshanty at Twitter Iceshanty Facebook Page Iceshanty Youtube Channel
Ice Fishing Shanty
Home | ThinIce | Chat | Pictures | Archives | ProShop | Militia | Sponsors
Iceshanty.com sponsored in part by:
Marmish | FishUSA | Marcum | Fish307 | Jiffy | Muck Boots | Frabill | FleetFarm | Lindy | Glens | KitteryTradingPost | Cabelas
Apr 16, 2014, 12:57 PM
MyFishFinder.com
Just like iceshanty but warmer

Miss activation email? Check your spam folder! | Forgot password?

Author Topic: Standard 2 stroke oil vs synthetic oil ratios  (Read 5010 times)

• IceShanty Rookie

Standard 2 stroke oil vs synthetic oil ratios
« on: Jan 04, 2010, 01:19 AM »
Hey guys I have been reading some posts on oil/fuel ratio's.  I have some questions for you all.  I have a Strike Master Lazer Mag that calls for a 40:1 ratio in the owners manual.  I have read some guys are using synthetics and having good luck (less smoke/running better).  Is the oil/fuel ratio different with the syn oil or would I still mix it 40:1?  Live in a smaller town have a NAPA and O'Riley's do you think they would carry the syn oil or do I need to order it online (kind of a pain if I do might just stay with the standard then).

thanks for the help

splake0

• IceShanty Rookie

Re: Standard 2 stroke oil vs synthetic oil ratios
« Reply #1 on: Jan 04, 2010, 01:27 AM »
Do a search "synthetic oil" there are numerous posts on this subject

Tainterslayer

• Team IceShanty Maniac

• My shanty still needs a toilet
« Reply #2 on: Jan 04, 2010, 02:24 AM »
The word is that you can run Amsoil Saber at any ratio up to 100:1 in any 2 stroke.
I'm still a little nervous about that, but there are people who say they have been doing it for years.

• IceShanty Rookie

« Reply #3 on: Jan 04, 2010, 03:40 AM »
Wow 100:1 huh?  Seems a little risky to me.  What do you think would be average 60 or 70 to 1?

timberdoodle

• Team IceShanty Regular

• 41 inch Northern
« Reply #4 on: Jan 04, 2010, 03:44 AM »