Mobile Site Follow Iceshanty at Twitter Iceshanty Facebook Page Iceshanty Youtube Channel
Ice Fishing Shanty
Home | ThinIce | Chat | Pictures | Archives | ProShop | Militia | Sponsors
Iceshanty.com sponsored in part by:
Marmish | FishUSA | Marcum | Fish307 | Jiffy | Muck Boots | Frabill | FleetFarm | Lindy | Glens | KitteryTradingPost | Cabelas
Apr 23, 2014, 11:26 PM
MyFishFinder.com
Just like iceshanty but warmer

Miss activation email? Check your spam folder! | Forgot password?
The Iceshanty.com Ice Shanty Tips Board is sponsored by

WholesaleOutdoors

Author Topic: Wiring a fish house  (Read 7887 times)

shootnmiss09

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Location: SW Minnesota
  • Join Date: Feb 2007

Wiring a fish house
« on: Dec 16, 2009, 05:55 PM »
Hi-

I am just starting to design a wheelhouse that I am going to be building. I jsut have a few questions about the electrical part. I have 3 ceiling lights, 3 switches, 6 outlets. How do i go about this? do I use like 14-3 wire? What is my best way to power my house? Battery, Generator, Solar? Thanks for the help.
$~I'd Rather be FISHING right now~$

~IcE FiShErMeN wAlK oN wAtEr~

"Here's the deal...I'm the best there is!" -Ricky Bobby

teamlund

  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 759
  • Location: kimberly WI
  • Join Date: Dec 2009

  • pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2009, 06:18 PM »
Hey, I am in the middle of builing a shanty also. I am going with a 12v batteryy set up. there will be an interior light, an exterior light, a fan, and 2 12v power outlets..... I am wiring mine up just like a boat with a power and ground. 14 ga wire. Not sure how to wire it up with a generator as a power source. I went with a battery set up becasue there isnt any noise or gas to worry about and we move sometimes as many as 12 times in a day so a generator would be a pain to deal with. I am sure I will be able to run all my lights, face, ect all weekend without any problems of a low battery.

Sounds like your shack might be alittle larger than mine so your needs and desires might be diff than mine. Good Luck :)
Northern pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)

shootnmiss09

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Location: SW Minnesota
  • Join Date: Feb 2007

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #2 on: Dec 16, 2009, 07:07 PM »
I was thinking, Could i just run everything 120volts, and run it to like a small fuse box, and then go from the fuse box to a generator?
$~I'd Rather be FISHING right now~$

~IcE FiShErMeN wAlK oN wAtEr~

"Here's the deal...I'm the best there is!" -Ricky Bobby

Saskbush

  • IceShanty Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Location:
  • Join Date: Nov 2006

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #3 on: Dec 16, 2009, 07:52 PM »
Yes you could run everthing 120 v and go to a small fuse box powered by a generator. But I would think about putting a 12 volt system in as well.

I have my shack wired for 12 volts. And I just plug into a deep cycle battery. Its easy, simple and quiet. And I think that this is the best way. The lights, stereo, all my electronics all run off of 12 volts. I have never yet had the need for 120v well fishing

But why not have both options. Install 120v and 12 volt system so you could have the best of both worlds when ever you wanted

shootnmiss09

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Location: SW Minnesota
  • Join Date: Feb 2007

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #4 on: Dec 16, 2009, 08:07 PM »
sorry if these are dumb questions, but im new to this. lol. i was just looking at the ice castle website, and the ones i looked at were all 110v. not 12v. so how do they power a wiring system like that?
$~I'd Rather be FISHING right now~$

~IcE FiShErMeN wAlK oN wAtEr~

"Here's the deal...I'm the best there is!" -Ricky Bobby

teamlund

  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 759
  • Location: kimberly WI
  • Join Date: Dec 2009

  • pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #5 on: Dec 16, 2009, 08:19 PM »
PS-You can go to a camper dealer and they will have tons of 12v lights and fans to choose from. Or www.fishhousesupply.co m
Northern pike are for guys that cant catch walleye :v)

dcso3009

  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 588
  • Location: Rochester, MN
  • Join Date: Dec 2008

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #6 on: Dec 17, 2009, 08:19 AM »
I'd do both 110 and 12V.  Hook up your generator to charge the 12V system.  Have both 110 lights and 12V lights and outlets.  Then you have a very diverse system.  You could also add the Solar for battery charging, but that can be hit and miss with the amount of light we get that time of year.  14/2 romex should be fine for any 110 wiring you will do.  It has 2 insulated wires, and a bare ground.  Are you looking to have each 110 light on a separate switch or all together?  If you are going to do them all together you will need a 4way switch, and 2 3way switches.  You will also need to study hard on how to wire it all together.  I have 2 4way switch/light setups in my home.  A real nightmare to wire, but sure is nice to turn on/off all the lights from 3 places.

shootnmiss09

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Location: SW Minnesota
  • Join Date: Feb 2007

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #7 on: Dec 17, 2009, 09:49 AM »
Would this work- Wire everything up in 110v, and have a generator, two deep cycle battereies with 2 bank on board battery charger, then use a DC to AC Inverter, so I could have the generator off sometimes, and still get power through the batteries?
$~I'd Rather be FISHING right now~$

~IcE FiShErMeN wAlK oN wAtEr~

"Here's the deal...I'm the best there is!" -Ricky Bobby

dcso3009

  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 588
  • Location: Rochester, MN
  • Join Date: Dec 2008

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #8 on: Dec 17, 2009, 11:27 AM »
It would work, but I think you would find it cheaper, and more efficient to go the other way- AC to DC.  Inverters chew up a lot of power.  Then just some simple 110 lights for when the generator is running.

Saskbush

  • IceShanty Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Location:
  • Join Date: Nov 2006

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #9 on: Dec 17, 2009, 03:41 PM »
This is what I would do.

Stick with 12volt lighting and have some 12 volt outlets for your electronics. This would all be powered by your bank of deep cycle batteries. Have a charger on your batteries that can be connected to your genorator. (similar to an charging system on a boat) At the same time put in a couple 120 volt lights and outlets as well.

I would stay away from all the inverters they are not very efficient and you don't really need them and your money would be better spent on something else.

I am an electrician by trade and I can try help you as much as I can with the wiring of your wheelhouse . Feel free to PM me if you like.

My best advise would be... Just keep it simple. the more complicated you make it now the harder it is to fix when it breaks down on the lake and your trying to get to work. More time fishing and less time fixing

ice dawg

  • IceShantyholic
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,137
  • Location: N E South Dakota
  • Join Date: Dec 2004

  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #10 on: Dec 17, 2009, 03:52 PM »
My shanty is wired mainly for 12v power. I also have a few 110v outlets and an on board charger. I usually charge my batteries for a couple hours in the evening so I plug in my 110v TV and watch a DVD while charging. In the morning I like drip coffee so I start the generator and while I'm charging the batteries I make coffee. I also have computer fans to circulate the heat and they draw very little current. By doing it this way I can get away with using two 30 Amp hour batteries to keep the weight down as they weigh about half of what a single deep cycle would weigh. I heat and cook with propane and my 1000 watt generator works out great.
KEEP YER STICK ON THE ICE!!!

akjw7

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
  • Location: Fairbanks
  • Join Date: Apr 2006

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #11 on: Dec 18, 2009, 12:11 PM »
like many have said I'm also putting in both - it's just so much more flexible and easy to do that it really is the way to go.

a couple questions though -

on the 12v system - where are you guys putting your battery? Just curious about off gassing during charging and if you're putting them outside in a box or in a sealed off/vented box inside the shanty or...just sticking them in the shanty out in the open???  ::)

on the 110 system - is a breaker box really necessary? I think my little generator has a breaker so I don't really plan to put in another one.

My 12 volt system will have 2 x 12volt flourescent lights inside, a cigarette lighter socket, and perhaps an outside low draw LED 'porch' light if I can find one locally cheap. Oh and my heater (vented catalytic). With the lights and heater running I'm figuring about a 2-3 amp draw so should get long life out of a decent deep cycle battery.

I'll only use the generator on longer trips when a 12v recharge might be needed, but when the generator is running I'll have an inside light - an outside flood light - and a couple of outlets just for convenience to run chargers etc off of.

ice dawg

  • IceShantyholic
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,137
  • Location: N E South Dakota
  • Join Date: Dec 2004

  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #12 on: Dec 18, 2009, 01:20 PM »
I have a storage box in the front of my dropdown house that also doubles as a bunk. My batteries, on board charger and storage bins are in it. There is also a duplex 110v outlet inside the box and the same thing plus a 12v outlet on the outside of the box. My AM/FM Cassette is mounted in the side of the box also. Since I have ten 12v 25 amp hour sealed batteries that I could build into a box for extended trips, but when I take my dropdown the generator goes with me.
KEEP YER STICK ON THE ICE!!!

akjw7

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
  • Location: Fairbanks
  • Join Date: Apr 2006

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #13 on: Dec 18, 2009, 02:21 PM »
yeah sealed are nice...I don't have any  ;D  so I've got to deal with venting...

part of the problem with sticking it in a box outside is the cold - we have regular 20* below zero temps and several times a winter cold snaps will be 40* below and colder.  That can more than half the batteries amp/hour capability...

If it's inside it stays warm but vents flammable fumes, if it's outside it's half a battery. 

I guess what I probably need to do is build a box inside that is just minimally vented to the outside...just makes it more complicated (getting into the sealed box to disconnect and reconnect wires, charger, etc). Nothing a little money wouldn't cure with a disconect switch and a charger I could leave in the shack...but I have to make do for now.

shootnmiss09

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Location: SW Minnesota
  • Join Date: Feb 2007

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #14 on: Dec 18, 2009, 06:18 PM »
I've come to the conclusion that i'll run two seperate systems, on teh 12volt have a few lights, one or two twelve volt outlets, and a car cd player. with 2 deep cycle batteries, and an onboard charger.

On the 110v system i would have like four duplex receptacles, and thats pretty much it. So is there a way to power this system w/o the generator always running, so i can watch tv and such? Once i hook up all the outlets, how to i go about getting this to the outside of the house, so i can hook it up to a generator? Do i just run the 12-2 wire, through the wall, and have a outlet on the outside of the house, and run a cord from there to the generator?

thanks so much for the help guys!
$~I'd Rather be FISHING right now~$

~IcE FiShErMeN wAlK oN wAtEr~

"Here's the deal...I'm the best there is!" -Ricky Bobby

dcso3009

  • Team IceShanty Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 588
  • Location: Rochester, MN
  • Join Date: Dec 2008

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #15 on: Dec 19, 2009, 05:17 AM »
I would run the 2/12 out and wire a plug on the end to plug into the generator.  Make a small box on the outside that you can coil the cord and keep it inside.  Maybe even a lock on it so no one steals it to turn in the copper.

indeeptreble

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
  • Location: Saskatchewan
  • Join Date: Jan 2003

  • Every hour you fish adds an hour to your life!
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #16 on: Dec 19, 2009, 09:44 AM »
i have seen a few shacks that use solar powered lights they carge all day come on when its getting dark might not last all night because of the short daylight chargetime and if you mount 1 on the outside of your shack makes it easy to find in the early morning

ice dawg

  • IceShantyholic
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,137
  • Location: N E South Dakota
  • Join Date: Dec 2004

  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #17 on: Dec 19, 2009, 09:57 AM »
I've come to the conclusion that i'll run two seperate systems, on teh 12volt have a few lights, one or two twelve volt outlets, and a car cd player. with 2 deep cycle batteries, and an onboard charger.

On the 110v system i would have like four duplex receptacles, and thats pretty much it. So is there a way to power this system w/o the generator always running, so i can watch tv and such? Once i hook up all the outlets, how to i go about getting this to the outside of the house, so i can hook it up to a generator? Do i just run the 12-2 wire, through the wall, and have a outlet on the outside of the house, and run a cord from there to the generator?

thanks so much for the help guys!
If you go to an electrical supply outlet like the contractors use, they will have a round outlet with a male end in it for the outside of the shack. This is what I used, but I can't remember the name of it. An extension cord plugs right into it.

If you want to watch a 110v TV without generator power, you will have to use an inverter which will use extra juice to run it, or you could buy one of those jump starters with a built in inverter.
KEEP YER STICK ON THE ICE!!!

ice dawg

  • IceShantyholic
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,137
  • Location: N E South Dakota
  • Join Date: Dec 2004

  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #18 on: Dec 19, 2009, 10:05 AM »
yeah sealed are nice...I don't have any  ;D  so I've got to deal with venting...

part of the problem with sticking it in a box outside is the cold - we have regular 20* below zero temps and several times a winter cold snaps will be 40* below and colder.  That can more than half the batteries amp/hour capability...

If it's inside it stays warm but vents flammable fumes, if it's outside it's half a battery. 

I guess what I probably need to do is build a box inside that is just minimally vented to the outside...just makes it more complicated (getting into the sealed box to disconnect and reconnect wires, charger, etc). Nothing a little money wouldn't cure with a disconect switch and a charger I could leave in the shack...but I have to make do for now.
Try asking one of the telephone companies up there for the old batteries from an NEC system  or some kind of electronic phone system, as I believe they change batteries yearly and throw the old ones out. The ten that I have sitting on shelves in my garage are all hooked together so I can charge them all at once. If I don't keep the ones in my shanty charged when I'm fishing, I just stop home and change them out for fresh ones. Too bad you don't live closer as I could hook you up with some. My on board charger gets plugged in when my shanty is in my driveway to de-sulfate the batteries.
KEEP YER STICK ON THE ICE!!!

akjw7

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
  • Location: Fairbanks
  • Join Date: Apr 2006

Re: Wiring a fish house
« Reply #19 on: Dec 22, 2009, 01:57 PM »
wow great idea!

my 3 stage charger died...need to buy another but haven't yet

I ended up getting my wiring done this weekend...turns out it's no fun at 36* below zero...who would have guessed it?

I have a 110v circuit coming from the an external outlet I can plug the generator (or extension cord from the house) into - that feeds 2 outlets inside, one light inside, and one flood light outside (to light up the ice behind the shack where I'll shovel out an ice rink for the kids to skate on when they get bored!)

I also have a 12v circuit coming from a battery that I will enclose inside the shack in a seat bench (boxed in with a small vent to the outside). Two 12v flourescent lights inside, power for the propane heater (auto ignition and exhaust fan), a cigarette lighter plug (for charging the cell phone or running the flasher or camera), and an exterior light by the door. I would have liked to put in an exterior power outlet, but it just wasn't needed and I didn't have enough romex. (not needed because if I needed something outside powered I could just plug it direct into the generator or an extension cord if it's at home)

Glad I took the time to hook in both 110v and 12v...sure going to be nice.

 

Iceshanty.com sponsored in part by:
Marmish | FishUSA | Marcum | Fish307 | Jiffy | Muck Boots | Frabill | FleetFarm | Lindy | Glens | Cabelas
Home | ThinIce | Chat | Pictures | Archives | ProShop | GearShop | Militia | Sponsors

Ice Fishing @ www.iceshanty.com Fishing @ www.myfishfinder.com Hunting @ www.myhuntingforum.com

Contact | Sponsor IceShanty.com | Disclaimer
©1996- IceShanty.com
All Rights Reserved